26. dubna, 2019 - svátek má Oto

The Guardian view on private schools: motors of unfairness | Editorial

Přidej článek
The Guardian

The Guardian |

Social mobility has stalled and inequalities between schools play an important part. It’s time to even things upPrivate schools educate around 6% of the UK’s school population, or around 625,000 children in 2,600 schools. Since they have their own inspectors and select their own intakes, comparisons with state schools are not straightforward. But in outcomes such as exam results, prowess in arts and sport, and rates of admission to universities and the professions, the success of fee-paying schools is unquestionable: 42% of Oxbridge places go to private pupils, who also make up 32% of all MPs, 51% of leading journalists, 74% of judges and a third of 2016 Team GB Olympic medallists. It’s possible to celebrate the achievements of individuals such as Bafta winner Olivia Colman yet recognise that this narrow cohort’s collective winnings are a problem.The UK is chronically socially immobile. More than in most comparable countries, a person’s life chances are determined by the status of their parents. Positions of power and influence are dominated by those with inherited wealth. This is not only unjust, but also a waste of human resources, which holds back progress of all kinds. And while private schools are by no means the main reason for the class system’s staying power, they are an important one. It is not just about the impact of small class sizes and lavish facilities on exam results, but also the creation and maintenance of powerful social networks and inculcation of mores. Progressives in the education debate are often accused of social engineering, but private schools are inequality-generating machines, as the title of a new book about them – Engines of Privilege – points out. Continue reading...

Autor: Editorial

Čtěte celý článek "The Guardian view on private schools: motors of unfairness | Editorial" ze zdroje: 

Každý článek můžete ohodnotit od 1 do 5 hvězd.
Prosím ohodnoťte tento článek
Hodnocení článku: 4,0 hvězd z 5

Vaše diskuze a názory:

Vložte Váš názor:

Jméno:
  Opište kód:
Tweetni tuto stránku
webdesign Praha a tvorba stránek na míru

Zprávy a aktuality

The Guardian

How to stop climate change? Nationalise the oil companies | Owen Jones

The Guardian | World media » Opinion aktuálně » 25. duben, 2019

Extinction Rebellion got the ball rolling, but more radical action is now necessary if humanity is to surviveIf only the Daily Express was right. That is not a sentence I ever expected to type. “Extinction Rebellion protests have WORKED as MPs succumb to calls for change”, bellowed the rightwing rag. Alas, the government has not capitulated to demands to

The Guardian

The Guardian view on the Conservatives: the headless chicken party | Editorial

The Guardian | World media » Opinion aktuálně » 25. duben, 2019

Brexit is destroying the Tory party. But the latest leak reveals a government that has lost its bearings on national security tooIn the view of the postwar Labour prime minister Clement Attlee, “No government can be successful which cannot keep its secrets.” By that yardstick, still the traditional one in British politics, Theresa May’s government is one of

The Guardian

While Britain forces its disabled people to food banks, it is unfit for the 21st century | Marsha de Cordova

The Guardian | World media » Opinion aktuálně » 25. duben, 2019

There is no starker example than universal credit of the way cuts punish this country’s most vulnerable citizensIt is 2019, and the UK is one of the wealthiest countries in the world. But today’s figures released by the Trussell Trust show that more than 1.6 million emergency food parcels were given to people going hungry across the UK last year. Related:

The Guardian

Like Greta Thunberg, I am on the autism spectrum. She gives me hope | Charlie Hancock

The Guardian | World media » Opinion aktuálně » 25. duben, 2019

The attacks on her from neurotypical critics are glib and spiteful. But they are a tribute to the power of her argumentsRarely have I identified with anything so strongly as when I listened to Greta Thunberg, the 16-year-old Nobel peace prize nominee, talking to Nick Robinson on BBC Radio 4’s Today programme. Like her, I have been diagnosed as being on the

The Guardian

Northern Ireland’s abortion laws are an abomination. Westminster must step in | Polly Toynbee

The Guardian | World media » Opinion aktuálně » 25. duben, 2019

The government must heed a select committee report – and end the brutal, primitivist treatment of women in the regionThey were all there: Northern Ireland’s DUP and Sinn Féin leaders, side by side with the Good Friday agreement’s guarantors, the British and Irish prime ministers. All were gathered at the funeral of the journalist Lyra McKee. “Why in God’s

The Guardian

Father Magill is right: Lyra McKee’s shocking death must not be in vain | Kathryn Gaw

The Guardian | World media » Opinion aktuálně » 25. duben, 2019

In his furious eloquence, the priest spoke for us all. I hope Theresa May and other politicians at the funeral were listeningLike the life that preceded it, Lyra McKee’s funeral was completely unique and utterly unforgettable.Thousands of mourners from every community in Northern Ireland lined the streets of Belfast to pay our respects to the extraordinary

The Guardian

As a teacher, I know parents are right to march against unfair tests for under-fives | Holly Rigby

The Guardian | World media » Opinion aktuálně » 25. duben, 2019

Exposing young children to pointless, distressing assessments in the first few weeks of school could kill their love of learningWhen I imagine the perfect way for a four-year-old to spend an afternoon, it chiefly involves making mud pies, eating raisins, finger painting with friends, all topped off by a much-needed afternoon nap. What it does not include is

The Guardian

Dare to declare capitalism dead – before it takes us all down with it | George Monbiot

The Guardian | World media » Opinion aktuálně » 25. duben, 2019

The economic system is incompatible with the survival of life on Earth. It is time to design a new oneFor most of my adult life I’ve railed against “corporate capitalism”, “consumer capitalism” and “crony capitalism”. It took me a long time to see that the problem is not the adjective but the noun. While some people have rejected capitalism gladly and

The Guardian

There will be no soft Brexit now. It’s no deal, revoke or another vote | Martin Kettle

The Guardian | World media » Opinion aktuálně » 25. duben, 2019

A compromise solution was possible once, but not any more. For pro-Europeans, the choice is starker and simplerEver since the Brexit vote in June 2016, many of us pro-Europeans have had to live with a dilemma. On the one hand, we regarded the vote to leave the European Union as a disaster for our country. On the other, we accepted the galling reality that